Social Media

Nottingham team to face Plymouth

Nottingham Rugby head to the Brickfields on 11th October (19:45 kick-off) to face Plymouth Albion in the British and Irish Cup and there is one player in the Green and White ranks looking forward to seeing some old faces.

Jon Vickers signed for Nottingham in the summer from the Devon based club and he has fond memories of his time there.

"I've got a lot of friends still at Plymouth and I keep in touch with them regularly, so it'll be good to go back and see some of them.  The club means a lot to me as they gave me my big break and helped me become the player I am today.

"The rugby education that I received at Plymouth helped me secure a move to Nottingham and I'll always be grateful for that."

The Green and Whites will have Backs Coach Ben Johnston in charge for the match on Friday evening as Martin Haag continues his commitment of allowing his coaching staff to develop and flourish.

Looking ahead to the game, Johnston said, "Plymouth are a physical side who like to run the ball a lot.  We're expecting a tough game and the forward pack in particular are going to be in a battle.

"There are a few changes for us this week as we've got a few niggles in the squad, but we're all looking forward to the match and the lads look really up for it."

Michael Holford moves over to loosehead with Ryan Bower coming in at tighthead.  Alun Walker gets his first start for the club at Hooker.

Tom Price returns in the second row alongside Dan Montagu, following an injury to Neilus Keogh.  Captain Brent Wilson moves to the bench with Tom Calladine moving to the flank in his place.  Alex Shaw comes back in at number 8.

Harrison Lee-Everton starts at scrum half with Matthew Jarvis at fly half.  Joe Munro and George Catchpole make up the centres while Ed Styles and Pasquale Dunn are named on the wing.  Rory Lynn replaces the injured Andrew Savage at full back.

Nottingham team to face Plymouth Albion:

15) Rory Lynn
14) Pasquale Dunn
13) George Catchpole
12) Joe Munro
11) Ed Styles
10) Matthew Jarvis
9)   Harrison Lee-Everton

1)   Michael Holford
2)   Alun Walker
3)   Ryan Bower
4)   Tom Price
5)   Dan Montagu
6)   Rupert Cooper
7)   Tom Calladine
8)   Alex Shaw


16) Campese Ma'afu
17) Jon Vickers
18) Harry Williams
19) Joe Burton
20) Brent Wilson
21) Finlay Barnham
22) Sean Romans


Nottingham Rugby News and Events